Tuesday, September 03, 2013
Living disabled.
I'm not usually a politically minded person. The people in government's only thought about me is to figure out how to make my life less dignified as if I had any dignity left being disabled. If it wasn't for charities and generous people who give to charities I simply could not afford to have an apartment or to have anything that was nice. I am grateful that there are people out there that understand that if I could work I would. I'd rather have a job, a paycheck, and a chance to own a house, a car and to have a normal life. I didn't ask to become disabled. I didn't run in front of a truck or take drugs that caused me to be impaired. My disabilities are NOT my fault. Therefore why is it that the (stinking rich) people who are our leaders find it necessary to 'balance the budget' by taking away things I need to live? Yes I have a computer and a tv. Rather nice one's actually but it isn't because I'm rolling in money. Its because I have a very loving mother who wanted to make sure I wasn't spending my days staring at the wall going totally batty with boredom. Our leaders would have me sell my computer and my tv and even my furniture because they are 'luxury items'. So disabled/elderly people are supposed to sit on the floor and sleep on the floor and have absolutely nothing in the way of entertainment because well they are living on the government's dollar and therefore aren't entitled to anything other than subsistence. Speaking of subsistence. I live so far below poverty level I'm surprised my income even registers. I do not receive enough ssdi from our government to rent a regular apartment and to feed myself. Now I've been blessed because I found a charity that caters to people like me with mobility issues that provides me a very nice one bedroom apartment and the rent is based on my income. The government seems to think $90 is enough in food stamps for me to eat for a month. Maybe if I eat beans, peanut butter, and ramen noodles. You would think they'd want me to be as healthy as I could be since that would mean less money spent on paying my doctor to fix the crap that my diet causes. I can't afford fresh vegetables or fruits and I certainly don't have any 'junk food' in my house. So I end up having to pay cash which I could really use to oh say buy clothes for food. When are we as americans going to stand up and show the world that we take care of our own? Oh that's right we are too busy sticking our nose in other nations business under the bs label of 'national security'. And the money we need for social security, medicare, and medicaid is going to pay for wars in other countries and paying people who have more money than sense (ie senators, congressmen, etc). England and canada are just two examples of countries who take better care of their citizens that the US. We should be known as a county who takes care of our own....but we are failing miserably.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment